As I mentioned in the “About Us” section, I struggle with a thyroid condition which some have diagnosed as Hashimotos and others have identified as hypothyroidism.  Iodine and iodide are crucial for the proper functioning of the thyroid gland. Iodine is an especially important element for women, whose bodies store Iodine in their breasts and female organs.  People like me face a big problem when it comes to using bleach and most other cleaners because of their chemical composition.

The element Iodine is a member of the Halogen Family, which includes it’s bigger, heavier brothers Florine, Chlorine and Bromine.  Because Iodine(I)  is lighter than Florine, Chlorine and Bromine, any time the body comes in contact with any of Iodine’s brothers, the Iodine in the body is kicked out of the body, chemically forced to abandon it’s place to a heavier Halogen brother.   That’s only part of the bad news.   Iodine is the only Halogen that your body absolutely positively needs to survive.  If Iodine is not found in every cell of your body, this means you’re probably dead.  Not so with the other halogens. Florine/Fluoride, Chlorine/Chloride  and Bromine/Bromide are all toxic to the human body, but your body must still give up it’s Iodine whenever it comes in contact with the big bad brothers.  Yes, you read that right.  Fluoride, as in toothpaste, Chlorine as in bleach, white flour, white paper and swimming pools, Bromide as in breads, crackers, soda pop and sports drinks.  Even though the body craves Iodine, it must give up it’s stores any time you drink chlorinated, fluoridated water… brush your teeth with mainstream toothpaste … bleach out your toilet and garbage cans… or even guzzle down a Gator-Aide.

So what’s a hypothyroid person to do?  Like everyone else, we want our homes to be clean and sanitary havens for our loved ones.

Vinegar and baking soda are pretty powerful in themselves. I use them a lot, and it’s nice to know that when my kids are cleaning with vinegar, I don’t have to worry about chemical exposure for them, either.  Young Living also has a product called Thieves Household Cleaner.   They claim that it has been documented to kill 99.9% of the germs that it comes in contact with.  I have mixed feelings about that assertion. It is helpful that the product is packaged in super-concentrated form, which makes 1 bottle last a long time.  I use a capful or two in a spray bottle full of water to clean my hard surfaces.  A capful does it for the toilet, too.  But, when I have tried to use THC in the laundry, where I would have used bleach, it does not get out the smell. SalSuds by Dr. Bronner’s is a far superior product for eradicating odors from underwear, baby diapers and stinky kitchen towels. In fact, I haven’t found anything better. I also haven’t been extremely impressed with THC’s handling of the urine problems typical to having boys and men in the household. Enzymatic cleaners made for pet odors, like Fizzion have worked better: thanks to Jackson Galaxy for teaching me about this brand.

In summary, no matter what I use, I make sure whatever is around is that it’s safe for my kids to use. (I’m one of those mean moms that expect my kids to clean up after themselves, and egads, even do chores sometimes!)  When it’s safe stuff, I rest a lot easier when I overhear one of them cleaning the bathroom.  I know there won’t be a call to the poison center over the vinegar used to clean the mirror, or anything else in the room.

For more information on halogens and hypothyroidism, please contact me or  see the links listed below.

http://www.fluoridealert.org/fluoride-deception.htm

http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com/

https://www.drbrownstein.com/bookstore_Iodine.php  (BUT USE KELP)

