What’s in a name?
That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet
.” – Juliette

Romeo & Juliette (II, ii, 1-2)

Last summer, my family ran out of Young Living Lavender oil.  Now, Lavender is probably the oil that I use the most on my kids, especially when they are very small.  I was not participating in the Essential Rewards AutoShip program at that time, which meant there was no hope of a Lavender oil shipment coming to our house any time soon.

Now I’d heard all the touting about Young Living having therapeutic grade oil, and being the best there was available anywhere… yatta yatta yatta.  It all sounded like so much high school level rivalry to me.  I really couldn’t see how there could be much difference, since all oils were distilled and made from the very same plant.   So I went to my local health food store and bought another brand of Lavender oil.  The label said it was therapeutic grade, there were more milliliters in the bottle, and the price made me one happy Mom!  As I was standing in the check-out line, still in sticker shock, I began to stew.  Little traitorous thoughts arose in  my mind.  I contemplated on why Young Living had to be so expensive.  I wondered if the company felt any remorse of conscience at all for ripping me and everybody else off.   I cursed MLM’s and seriously considered buying all my oils at the health food store from that time on.

The Lavender oil from the health food store was needed the very next day.  My daughter had neglected to wear a long-sleeved shirt when we harvested the cucumbers.  She had a bunch of painful little prickles in her arm from the cucumber vines.  Upon opening the new bottle of non-YL Lavender oil to apply it to her washed-off arms, we both immediately knew something was wrong.  “Ewwww!” was our immediate, mutual reaction.  The oil actually stunk.  The scent wasn’t sweet and woodsy, but metallic and bitter.  We noticed that the consistency wasn’t the same as YL either.  The off-brand felt and behaved more like water than anything else.  Worst of all, it didn’t work at all like the Young Living Lavender oil.  It was weak and practically impotent.

Because we use Lavender so much, the whole family soon came in contact with that bottle of “therapeutic grade” oil.  The consensus was unanimous: it was awful!!!  Everyone started complaining when we needed to use Lavender.  Usually, we don’t want any bottle of YL to run out, because we enjoy it so much.  But this stuff??  We couldn’t wait to get rid of it!  Why did it seem to last forever!! When friends came over and we wanted to share Lavender with them for their needs, we didn’t want to get that bottle out because it wasn’t a good example of what the oil could do.  Eventually, my husband couldn’t stand it anymore and asked me to order some Young Living Lavender oil… now! Today!

Then, when we opened the medicine cabinet, the choice was always between the Young Living Lavender and the other Lavender.  The other bottle went unused for months.  Finally, I decided to just start dumping it in the kids’ baths to get rid of it.  They complained.  In hindsight, I should have just put it in the trash where it belonged. Never again will I doubt that there is a difference between essential oil brands, because there is a difference.  I found out that for myself.  You get what you pay for, and sometimes it’s just not worth it to be cheap.

What’s in a name? That which we call Lavender
By any other name than Young Living
would NOT smell as sweet
.” – Mom M.

