I’m not sure quite why, but for some reason a drug rehabilitation website has picked up my wordpress feed.   So, I’m addressing today’s post to any individuals led here by that website.

I happen to volunteer as a facilitator for ARP. The original Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous World Services Inc were adapted by LDS Family Services to fit into a framework of the doctrines, principles and beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It is known as the LDS Family Services Addiction Recovery Program, or ARP for short.  For about a year now, I have served as a facilitator at weekly meetings held in my stake.  The experience has been a singular one; at times even a sacred one. I feel blessed to have had the privilege to serve, share and learn together will all who have attended.

There are physical, emotional and spiritual reasons why addictions develop.  It is my personal belief and witness that there is a way out of addiction, and that any lasting recovery must have a spiritual foundation.  Pictured below are the Twelve Steps of the ARP program:

I have seen these steps work in my life and in the lives of many others. I would encourage you to find an ARP meeting locally, whether or not you are LDS.  If you are LDS, I invite you specifically to come back, even if you can no more than desire to [try], let this desire work in you – You are needed and missed more than you know.  As I heard Elder Holland say in time of very great difficulty in my own life, ” Don’t give up… Don’t you quit.  You keep walking.  You keep trying.  There is help and happiness ahead – a lot of it…  You keep your chin up.  It will be all right in the end.  Trust God and believe in good things to come.”  (Ensign, Nov 1999, p.36)  I bear witness that Jesus Christ is everything that he says he is, including the Prince of Peace, the Great Physician, the Balm in Gilead, and the Healer of Our Souls.  His love can bring you to complete spiritual health.  I know it, for that’s what his love did for me.

Since this is a blog about essential oils, I will also include what information I know about how essential oils can help individuals to physically overcome addiction.  The rest of this post is my own responsibility and does not represent the views or opinions of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, LDS Family Services, Young Living or any other company whose product I have touted.  I simply include what further information I know in an effort to further assist anyone seeking to recover their souls, for LDS doctrine teaches, “… the spirit and the body are the soul of man” – D&C 88:15 .  I know that in my own life,  after I had already made progress in spiritual recovery,  professional counseling and essential oils helped me to overcome further remaining physical and emotional effects of past abuse and addiction.

1.   The fourth edition of the Essential Oils Desk Reference states, “Many food and chemical dependencies, such as addictions to tobacco, caffeine, drugs, alcohol and sugar may originate in the liver.  Cleansing and detoxifying the liver is a crucial first step toward breaking free of these addictions.  Increasing intake of alkaline calcium can help bind bile acids and prevent fatty liver.  A colon and tissue cleanse is also important.  Using stevia, stevioside, or FOS can help reduce sugar cravings.  Stevia is a supersweet noncaloric extract derived from an ancient South American herb, while FOS is a sweet-tasting indigestible sugar derived from chicory roots, and Jerusalem artichokes with no calories and important health benefits.  Trace mineral and mineral deficiencies can also play a part in some addictions.  Magnesium, potassium, calcium and zinc should all be included in the diet…

FIRST RECOMMENDATIONS: Detoxzyme, Omega Blue Softgels, Comfortone, ICP  OTHER BLENDS: Harmony, Peace & Calming, JuvaCleanse, JuvaFlex

EO APPLICATION METHODS: Inhalation: DIFFUSION, 15 min every 2 hours as needed. DIRECT, 2-3 times daily, as needed.

TOPICAL: Apply neat, 1-2 drops on temples and/or back of neck 4 times daily. COMPRESS, warm, over liver.”

2. Herbal bowel cleanses are also available from various sources. Dr. Richard Schulze’s Intestinal formulas #1, #2 are available Herbdoc.com. Dr. Christopher’s Herb Shop also sells lower bower formula and many other beneficial herbal formulas which I learned about at their School of Natural Healing. 

If we resist the addiction and at the same time yield to a Higher Power, the Higher Power will lead us away from the addiction.” – Dr. A. Dean Byrd


Broken souls that need his mending, Broken hearts for offering,
I believe that God loves broken things…

