One of my favorite essential oil blends by Young Living is called Peace and Calming.  As the name of the product infers, I use it to maintain a personal sense of serenity.  Many survivors of domestic violence have a problem with hyper-vigilance, a condition in which the mind and body instinctively remain on constant guard against any threat, real or otherwise.  Within the last 5 or 6 years, my levels of hyper-vigilance have lowered considerably.  However, there are still personal triggers for me –  I can go from 0 to 80 in about 2 seconds, and stay upset or agitated, if I let something bother me enough.  Abuse damages the endocrine system, essentially burning it out so that it can not easily produce calming hormones which would normally shut down the “fight or flight” mechanism:

When the body is under stress, then high levels of stress regulating hormones… are released. This is a natural and healthy response to help the body cope with situation. Typically, the stressful event passes and the hormones and neurotransmitters retreat. The body returns to a state of non-stress.

However, if you’re living with ongoing, incessant stress, then the body can never return to a state of non-stress. It continuously releases high levels of stress-regulating hormones and neurotransmitters.

If the body is exposed to these high levels of hormones and neurotransmitters on a continuous basis then it eventually leads to malfunctioning in the endocrine system, nervous system and metabolic system…

The three most serious and common effects from long-term stress are adrenal fatigue, neurotransmitter imbalances or deficiencies and hormone imbalance…

http://www.holistichelp.net/effects-of-stress.html

For me, Peace and Calming seems to be able to assist my endocrine system to do what it can not currently do alone or with ease.

I’ve found that Peace and Calming also influences  those around me for good.  I’ve diffused the essential oil blend when anticipating a visit from rambunctious company and have noticed how the big fiascos don’t seem happen.  I’ve worn the essential oil blend around high-strung, anxious and controlling people.  It helps me to deal with those individuals, and sometimes calms them, too.  I’ve asked friends with hyperactive or strong-willed children to try using the oils with them.  It’s always been reported back to me that the child (usually a boy) has seemed more in control of themselves and less contentious with others.  In my experience, even children with ADD seem to respond well.

