There are hermit souls that live withdrawn
In the peace of their self-content;
There are souls, like stars, that dwell apart,
In a fellowless firmament;
There are pioneer souls that blaze their paths
Where highways never ran…

We’ve really enjoyed being able to control the chemical environment of our own home, but sometimes the thought of having to be out and about in the world isn’t very appealing.  Activities such as airline travel, school attendance, shopping in crowds,  visiting nursing homes or hospitals, and church-going can seem less appealing when faced with worries about airborne disease and contamination.  But nobody wants to live like a hermit, constantly feel uncomfortable in new situations or fear to see friends and loved ones.  The easiest solution would be to simply wear essential oils, and sometimes we do – on the bottom of our feet, with socks to cover them and help the oils last.  But essential oils still tend to dissipate more quickly than you might like them to; that’s just their nature when they are applied to nice warm skin, especially if applied neat. (Neat means without a carrier oil like olive oil or coconut oil).   So, for a while it seemed that unless we carried a 5 or 15 ml bottle with us everywhere we went, it felt a lot harder to benefit from essential oils outside the home.

This is why we like essential oil pendants.  There are many different kinds on the market, of varying price ranges, each with their own pros and cons.  Pictured are just three of the pendants available:  Clay (usually made of unfinished terra cotta),  Glass and Wood.  The scent of the oils lasts a lot longer when worn as a pendant around the neck.  I’ve enjoyed wearing the essential oil blend Brain Power when I’m studying or when I have to take an exam.  Many of my friends have traveled all over wearing Thieves on or inside a neck pendant.  If you’ve read my other posts, you know that my hypothyroidism makes me ultra-sensitive to chemical emissions from cleaners, air fresheners, cigarette smoke, etc.  I have found that wearing Purification oil blend on a pendant really  helps me when I have to be out and about, mingling with others.  Purification is especially helpful if I know I will be around people who smoke.  The clay pendants are the most affordable and low-maintenance of the group pictured here, and come in many patterns and varieties.  They are a kid-friendly way to go,  so that even if they get lost or broken, it’s not like you’ve given up an arm and a leg.  I know of some people who use pendants in their cars instead of yucky car fresheners and sprays.

If the pendants do not provide enough “oomph” for you,  there is also the option of taking along a small battery-powered diffuser.  The Young Living company makes a small unit which can fill a room as large as 1000 ft2 with diffused essential oil protection.  The travel fan diffuser is therefore a great option for the car or hotel room. Be aware, however, that you will probably also attract more attention to yourself with such a machine around you, and others may complain. I think the pendant is more discreet.

Young Living’s Travel Fan Diffuser

Of course, if I AM going on a long trip and know I’ll be staying in that hotel room, I do take my essential oils with me, as many of them as I can.  I honestly haven’t had to get any of them through airline security, but if I did have to fly, I would be very cautious about what I took with me and how much.  (I think confiscation boils down to being a subjective thing – who thinks what is dangerous.)  Many people put their oils into tiny dram bottles, like you would perfume samples, and I’d hope this would make it through airline security.  Make sure if you take your oils in the car with you, that you protect their integrity and energetic potency by storing them as far away from the engine and from light and heat sources as possible. (This is true for homeopathic remedies as well.)  Happy Traveling!

UPDATE: I have a friend whose husband makes glass essential oil diffusers by hand. Check him out! 

I know there are brook-gladdened meadows ahead
And mountains of wearisome height;
That the road passes on through the long afternoon
And stretches away to the night.
But still I rejoice when the travellers rejoice,
And weep with the strangers that moan…
Let me live in my house by the side of the road
And be a friend to man
.
– Sam Walter Foss

