Wynken and Blynken are two little eyes,
And Nod is a little head,
And the wooden shoe that sailed the skies
Is a wee one’s trundle-bed…

Over the past month, we’ve learned by accident that at least two Young Living essential oil blends do a really good job at relaxing a person to sleep. When we run a bath using either Peace and Calming or Gentle Baby, (2 to 6 drops of one or the other), we’ve noticed how much the oils mellow our mood. I get sleepy enough to fall asleep right there in the tub. I go to sleep quickly and easily afterward. My husband has noticed that for at least 2 or 3 hours after he takes one of these essential oil baths, his mood and energy levels are all mellow – not quite to sleepy, but pretty close to that point.

The reason I say that we learned this by accident is because of my work schedule. I get out of work late in the morning, and go to take my morning bath before breakfast (which is more like at lunchtime for most people). If I use one of these oil blends at that time, forget about me doing anything demanding like working out in the yard, exercising, or trying to study. I feel like just going back to sleep. It’s almost “narcoleptic” for me. The smell of the oils get into the house, and then anybody else who is home also seems to go into a more relaxed than energized state.

I guess this is good news for any stressed out high-rollers or insomniacs. If I had to choose between some knock-out pharmaceutical (with side-effects) or a relaxing float down an essential-oil-laced path to Dreamland, I know which I’d prefer.

And you shall see the beautiful things
As you rock in the misty sea,
Where the old shoe rocked the fishermen three:
Wynken,
Blynken,
And Nod.

