Thanks to a new friend I met on Facebook, I learned that today is a special day for bloggers worldwide:

“Each year bloggers from more than 100 countries come together and blog about a single important issue, and this year’s topic is clean water. The event includes thousands of blogs – including the White House blog and The Official Google Blog – and they’re looking for as many blogs to participate as possible, regardless of their size and focus.”

Lucky for you, my reader, I have plenty to say on this topic, too!  There is so much contradictory information to be had all over the Internet about the kind of water that is best and healthiest for man.  I’ve poured over pages and purchased products – the good, the bad, and the expensive.  These are my conclusions:

The chlorination and fluoridation of municipal water supplies is not being done for the public welfare,  but rather to line the pockets of politicians and industrialists.  Germans first used chlorine gas as a weapon during WWI.  It was a poison then and is still a poison now.  The fluoride in our drinking water and toothpaste is a waste product of the aluminum industry.  It is also a human toxin.  Chlorine, fluoride, bromide and iodine are members of a chemical family known as the Halides.  For humans, iodine is the only non-toxic member of the Halide family, and in fact is mandatory for survival of the species.  Why is it no surprise, therefore,  that iodine is the halide given the bad rap by the Establishment, while our air and water is flooded with its poisonous brothers who can force Iodine out of our bodies with their heavier atomic weight?

I grew up in a community that fluoridated it’s water, and until recently, spent all my married life in cities that fluoridated and chlorinated their municipal water supplies.   When I was diagnosed hypothyroid 5 years ago, I realized that my first problem was the water supply.  I first investigated Reverse Osmosis, but was warned away from this process by many alternative practitioners who taught that the carbon filter did more bad than good.  They posed the rhetorical question: how could something be good that was the reverse of the natural process of osmosis? The convincing factor for me was having to remain forever tied to buying carbon filters.  I next investigated installing a whole-house distiller,  but could not afford one.  I also read a lot of confusing information about distilled water being dead and non-vitalized.  There were many claims that it leached minerals from the body (more about that later).

shower filter :(I worried most about baths and showers

because I learned that the gravest, heaviest exposure came not from drinking fluoridated, chlorinated water but from breathing their gasses.  Nice job, government do-gooders.  The thought of my husband’s daily Mini-Auschwitz, poisoning by degrees, did little to ease my mind.  So I tried the shower filters… but, again, they needed constant replacing, and required husband help for installation (can we say waiting for months?!) and were really expensive for us.   In having to make the choice between new shoes and winter coats so my kids wouldn’t freeze or a bath ball so they wouldn’t be poisoned, which one do you think I chose? yucky bath ball

 

In desperation, I  resorted for a while to buying gallons of distilled, artesian or natural spring water at the grocery store.  I later advanced to purchasing big, heavy 5-gallon jugs and lugging them to the grocery-store water machines, and later on, to the health-food store water machines.   I knew full well that this water was nothing more than the municipal water, processed by reverse-osmosis…  but on a limited budget, what else could I do?

screen-capture-11

Combing the Internet again, I came across what I thought was at least part of the answer: while I couldn’t afford a whole-house distiller, maybe I could get a countertop distiller, at least for the drinking water.  By this time, my disease had become so acute that I couldn’t bear to drink any water that had the least taste of chlorine in it.  I was disappointed in my expectations again.

003 water-distiller-love3-fAs is true for me with “stainless steel” water bottles, proved true with the “stainless steel” distilling chamber: I could taste the metal in the supposedly pure water.  We spent about $200 on the unit, and didn’t get much help from the website that sold it to us.  (It’s the one I don’t LOVE that claims to have BEST PRICES.) In fact, customer service was uber-crappy, so buyer beware!  Again, the coconut filters you must have at the end, to “polish” the water, are still just carbon filters, and they don’t last long.  A little plastic jar of some kind of acid was also sent along to “clean” the chamber for maintenance purposes.  It was nasty stuff.  The seal on the lid also melted and peeled loose. We ended up throwing this unit away after less than a year of use.

By this time, I was starting to feel like the Ancient Mariner:

Day after day, day after day, We stuck, nor breath nor motion;
As idle as a painted ship Upon a painted ocean.
Water, water, everywhere, And all the boards did shrink;
Water, water, everywhere, Nor any drop to drink.

I returned to the Internet on yet another quest.  This time I discovered the Berkey Filter.  PleasantHillGrain.com did a great job of selling me on the idea of naturally filtrated water.  The numbers were very persuasive (99.999% pure), and it seemed like such a simple solution, too.  I really liked how these filters worked.  Still believing distilled water was dead water, I thought I’d finally found a way to get pure water that was still “live” water.  I begged my husband to let us get the fancy see-through nightlight 005 nightlight berkey model, his frugal nature remained firm and we settled on one of the smaller, cheaper stainless steel models.  I worried that I would be able to taste the metal again, but I didn’t.  004 berkey stainlessWe purchased both filters – the regular black one, and the white one said to reduce fluoride and arsenic.  We were really happy with the unit.  However, we had not estimated how much water a family our size can go through in a day, a week, a month. The Berkey Filters worked fabulously well – I never tasted metal, and I felt good when I drank it.  However, our water consumption wore out the filters in about a month’s time.  $200 a month for water is A LOT of money.  The unit fell into disuse, simply because we could not afford to keep buying the filters.  I suppose I should buy another set of them, for emergency’s sake, but it’s kind of disheartening knowing that we’d only be able to last a month anyway… and if the disaster is nuclear, what then?

The water problem is one of the main reasons we finally decided to move.  We chose the area, traveled there on vacation, and finding the water to be delicious and left unmolested, we moved there 6 months later.   Now my daily water supply is free of chlorine and fluoride.  I drink water from the tap for the first time in years.  But while we’re getting pure mountain waters, I’ve begun to notice the hard water deposits. I read about the negative effects of hard water in the writings of Dr. John Christopher.

In his writings, I  also learned the truth about distilled water.  I’ve noticed that almost all herbal medicines use distilled water, no matter who the maker was.  I figured that there had to be a reason for it.  Dr Christopher’s book, Herbal Home Health Care explains why:

Distilled water flushes the minerals and inorganic salts that cause sickness out of the body, where juice and other liquids are not as efficient… Distilled water will back out these inorganic minerals… but will not touch or bother live organic minerals from herb and plant life that the body has assimilated.

I’d learned about the concept of colloidal minerals from my husband’s studies of composting.  Basically, the idea is that the body only is able to use minerals that it recognizes.  Since the body is designed to break down plant material, it knows how to break down minerals and vitamins that it finds inside of cells – essentially water & tissue wrapped elements – which the body recognizes as living.  As Christopher explains,

hard inorganic minerals must go through plant life and are changed by osmosis to live organic mineral which can then be assimilated into the human cell structure.

Or, in other words, the body recognizes these colloidal minerals as something usable.  “Beet-wrapped Iron” can be used, as can “Oatstraw-wrapped-calcium”… but swallow “naked” ground up rock powders (most vitamins) and that’s all that the body sees.  Inorganic minerals, such as those found in most multivitamins and hard water, have no vibrational energy from a “colloidal coat” and while they can be accepted into the body, they cannot be assimilated.

So I’ve come full circle, and am back to seeking distilled water for drinking water.  I’m glad I don’t have to worry about anything more than mineral deposits in the bathtub and shower, but I need to find a distiller that is affordable and practical.  Because my local water doesn’t contain chlorine and fluoride, I don’t have to worry about VOC’s (chlorine and fluoride still remaining in distilled water because the temperature at which they turn into a gas is higher than water.)

I did find a viable and exciting portable solution for my distiller problem. It figures that it’s out of stock EVERYWHERE I’ve looked. 006 waterwise distiller

I first saw this non-electric stove-top water distiller in Lehman’s Catalog, and loved it for the fact that it had no moving parts, and no filter was required. It could even be used on wooden stoves. I’ll be hunting for a unit this coming spring and summer of 2011. UPDATE: Lehman’s Catalog quit carrying this device, and I have not been able to find it anywhere since. Considering the “quality” of other products they tout as best of the best, which we have purchased, to our disappointment, I now avoid Lehman’s altogether.

For a time, I considered rejecting the whole idea of a stainless-steel distiller. What about glass? That’s when I found rain-crystal.com, apparently the only home-sized water distiller you available anywhere featuring glass distillation components, not stainless steel. Sounds pretty breaky-breaky to me, though. I can just see one of my kids tripping over it now. So… if I were rich… and childless… I’d probably get it today… but I’m not, so I won’t. The other problem I see with the rain-crystal distiller is that I’d probably have to get a water-softener, too. Otherwise all those lovely glass tubes would get all clogged. Wouldn’t be able to see through them, either.

screen-capture-10

Just when I thought I’d reached another dead-end, I stumbled upon the final answer, the object of my quest! Joy! Rapture! There it was, shining on the horizon: a Durastill distiller! I am SERIOUSLY coveting one of these. I think it’s the most practical solution for our family. Durastills are made right here in America, as they have been for the last 35 years in Kansas City, Missouri. They’re made of high-quality stainless steel, and can be purchased in various sizes. I want either the Countertop Champion or the Deluxe System. I’ll have to save my pennies, though… the cheapest I was able to find online today started at $525 and went up. We eventually bought the 12-gallon model for around $1200 and have been very happy with it. I have to admit, a bit ruefully, that I feel like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. After this big long trek through “Waterland”, I have returned to the very same brand and type of water-purifying machine that I grew up with in my own home.

This whole water quest thing has obviously made a lot of money for a lot of people. I’ve even seen the machines that whirl and twirl the water around, giving it “missing ions” and “returning it to the counter-clockwise flow that was had before the Great Flood.” I know people who own machines like this and am extremely suspicious of them (the machines, not the gullible people.) Just as I believe religiously, I believe that in these latter-days, God could not and would not leave us all alone and without answers. Just as in the days of Adam and Eve, His answers are simple and clear. It’s we who have fouled the waters, not Him.

Here’s hoping all the survivalists out there – squirreling away supplies into their storehouses – will not be so many that everyone who wants one will still be able to buy a solar-collector to run their home-base Durastils, and possibly a stove-top water distiller for their portable camps. Sitting here, thinking about how many in the world don’t even have the option of debating these minutia over water purity, I feel twice-blessed… and wish for my fellow-men the world over that simple yet priceless gift which ALL mankind once shared: pure drinking water for all.

He prayeth best, who loveth best All things both great and small;
For the dear God who loveth us, He made and loveth all.
– The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

UPDATE: A really fantastic video about distilled water. Thank you, Rocky Mountain Water Distillers!

