Let me state my position carefully, lest I appear to contradict myself or seem hypocritical.

1. I view most manufactured products with suspicion, because they use denatured and toxic ingredients like white flour, white sugar, pasteurized homogenized cow’s milk and factory-produced eggs. Yet there remains the desire to bless and delight those we love with good things, especially around the holidays.

2. I believe that this world is full of true originals, or, better said, eternal principles. I also believe that there are just as many, if not more deliberately close, very deceiving counterfeits. Truth is sweet because it’s source is good.

3. I also believe there are things which started out bad or not beneficial for man, which others have tried to improve, such as caffeinated vs decaffeinated coffee. Another example is the early Christian missionaries. I choose to give most of them the benefit of the doubt. Were I placed in a situation where I were asked to teach a group of people intangible concepts which they’d never heard of before, I might also use examples from everyday life or even extant traditions to illustrate principles of Christianity in ways the people could understand.

4. I enjoy living, loving and laughing just as much as anyone else. I am no dour-faced sanctimonious Church Lady who can’t stand to see anyone happy. When it comes to morality or diet or anything else important, I don’t feel hampered by the  commandments, councils and natural laws that have been given to me. I simply choose to find my joy within the bounds that God has set for me, because the simple truth is that it’s the only place that real and lasting joy is found.

So, in celebrating the holidays, how to I remain true to my dietary and religious standards while also making this wonderful time of year special for those I love the most?

JOYFULLY DANCE WITHIN THE CHOREOGRAPHY:
To me, the most beautiful dances I’ve seen are those which remain within a pattern and are performed by people who have spent hours practicing, to hone their skills and improve. The bounds are set for them, yet their performance is original, unique and individual. I try to think of this during holiday time, especially if there is a dish I really want. If I can’t have X, then is there a way I can substitute, keeping the pattern but avoiding what’s bad for me (denatured, degenerated, altered, allergenic)l? Last night our family converted one of my favorite recipes from my Aunt Carol over into something we could eat. Not only was it delicious, but it was so much more enjoyable because it was guiltless, and I knew the hands that had prepared were not indifferent strangers, but loving family members.

Aunt Carol’s German Apple Cake (tweaked by the Moores)
2 large eggs (Traci Sellers does have a flaxseed egg substitute recipe)
2 tsp organic cinnamon
1 cup oil (We use corn. Canola & olive are BAD for baking)
2 cups spelt pastry flour (given to us by our friend Jean)
1.25 cups Blue Agave syrup (We could’ve gotten away with 1 cup)
1 cup chopped nuts (We used organic almonds)
1/2 tsp salt (We like Redmond’s – from dried up seas, in Utah caves)
4 cups organic apples, peeled and sliced (also given to us by friends)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp soda, dissolved in a small amount of water

Beat eggs and oil until mixture is foamy. Add agave, salt, vanilla, cinnamon, soda, flour, apple slices and nuts. Stir to blend thoroughly. Batter will be very thick. Push batter into a greased 9 X 13 pan (we used organic butter or extra virgin coconut oil). Bake 45-60 minutes at 350 degrees F. Cool thoroughly.

BE WILLING TO PAY THE PRICE REQUIRED FOR BEST THINGS
If I eat a Dollar Store diet, I’m going to have Dollar Store health. I’m constantly amazed by the lack of logic in American consumerism and health habits. It should really be no surprise to anyone that putting a fruit rollup through a computer printer is going to cause bad things for the printer. That’s too expensive is just another way of saying I’m not worth it. If a printer needs paper, then that’s what you get for it. Among other things, humans need fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, grains, and pure water, in a condition as fresh, whole and organically produced as possible. So, in terms of everyday eating or holiday treating, I’d rather have a small amount of something that is 90-100% good for me, than copious amounts of harmful, toxic but cheap! nutritional crap. You know that fruit rollup doesn’t just disappear in there. Someday we’re going to discover that it’s gummed up the works.

This is why I like Young Living so much. It’s the best you can get, not only in oils, but in other products as well.

In the apple cake recipe above, I featured Blue Agave Nectar. This stuff is absolutely awesome. The only sweeteners that I like and trust more are pure honey and pure maple syrup. The nice thing about agave is that it dissolves at any temperature (unlike honey). I make herbal infusions for my health: stuff like red raspberry leaf tea for female health, or blessed thistle tea to increase milk production. Sometimes I forget to add the honey when the tea has slightly cooled, so agave saves the day in those instances. Agave also has a low glycemic index, so diabetics can use it. It has no aftertaste. It comes from a plant, just like aloe vera does, and isn’t some $uspicious $pin of $omething that must have a patented name, like $plenda or xylitol. It has no funny aftertaste like stevia has for me, and I like it being in liquid form.

I thought perhaps my days with chocolate might be over because of the use of GMOs by many of today’s chocolate manufacturers. Imagine how happy I was this morning to learn, at Young Living’s website, that they make chocolate! Woo-hoo!!! The Majestic Essence Peppermint Bar is probably going to turn up in certain children’s stockings!  Certified organic cocoa liquor, butter, and cacao are added to natural ingredients like Young Living Therapeutic Grade™  essential peppermint oil, sacred boswellic acid and Yacon. That’s it. THIS chocolate is even GOOD FOR ME, providing natural sources of vitamin C, dietary fiber, flavanol antioxidants, and cacao flavanols. It makes me want to throw back my head and laugh! MWA-HA-HA-HA!!!!

CONCLUSION:  So don’t picture me sitting around with some long face in a black dress and wide white collar at holiday time. Men are that they might have joy! Ours is a wondrous time to be alive, when we have the option before us to choose. We don’t have to overdo it at holiday time – little bit is enough. When we are prudent in what we choose to accept and thankful for the good things before us, we can have our cake and eat it too! Having chosen to reject what isn’t good for me, there is still left the opportunity and happiness of deciding between what is good, what is better, and what is best… and then, because I am an American, being at liberty to act upon that choice! What a happiness that is to me!

