Honesty is such a lonely word.
Everyone is so untrue.
Honesty is hardly ever heard.
And mostly what I need from you.

– Billy Joel

Sometimes when I blog about essential oils, I wonder if my readers think I’m some kind of gypsy peddler or quack, who promises miracles out of patent-medicine bottles.  (UPDATE: I was also an independent distributor at the time of this post, and not a corporate representative: that must be made clear, too.) While there are many essential oil blends produced by Young Living which claim numerous emotional benefits, I never want to leave the impression with anyone that you can buy strength of character out of a bottle. That’s too New Age-y for me, and it’s simply not true.

For example, the Young Living company describes the essential oil blend, Valor, in these words:  Valor® is an empowering combination of therapeutic-grade essential oils that works with both the physical and spiritual aspects of the body to increase feelings of strength, courage, and self-esteem in the face of adversity. Renowned for its strengthening qualities, Valor enhances an individual’s internal resources. It has also been found to help energy alignment in the body.

I look at Valor essential oil blend in the same way that I view herbs in nutritional healing. We all know that calcium, vitamin D2 and silica are necessary for building strong bones. The same is true for emotional systems. I believe that the nervous system also requires certain nutritional and energetic building blocks to maintain hormonal and emotional equilibrium. Essential oils can provide substances to the nervous/emotional system which the body has used up or perhaps never had. However, I do not believe that a cowardly person can suddenly change overnight by taking a bath in Valor, any more than I would believe that a negative, pessimistic person – looking only for the darkness in life – could ever really be helped by an essential oil blend like Joy. Our attitude is an inward choice, and if there isn’t even the desire to change it, no substance on earth can do what we do not first desire for ourselves.

There are essential oil blends with names like Hope, Joy, Believe, Common Sense, Forgiveness, Humility and Motivation. It’s my belief that we get what we seek. There are some days when I would that I could dump a couple of gallons of Humility on an hypocritical person who hurts me. Of course, for my own part, I’d have to douse myself in a few gallons of Forgiveness while I was at it!! The thought of healing in a bottle may sound lovely at first, but it just doesn’t work that way. When it comes to matters of the soul, the source of Faith, Hope, Patience, Kindness, or any other noble virtue is sought from and found at the Source. I believe that positive attributes of character are gifts. They are gifts granted to us by a loving God and given to us as we seek them. Spiritual gifts are given according to his timetable for our lives, not ours… and no, they don’t come in a bottle.

Essential oils enhance our lives like wildflowers enhance a trail through a meadow. They are not the path, but rather helpers along the way for a person who is already on the trek homeward.   There are clear boundaries established between

what God can do,
what any person can do,
what any substance can do, and
what God can help a substance to help a person to do.

I’ve had to overcome a lot in my life, and it’s my personal belief that the most healing pathway is the courageous, trusting one taken by those willing to walk hand in hand with God.  So don’t get your wires crossed, at least not with this Young Living distributor. I’ll render unto Young Living what is Young Living’s, and unto God what is God’s.

But Peter said unto him, Thy money perish with thee, because thou hast thought that the gift of God may be purchased with money. – Acts 8:20 (9-20)

