Word is getting around that I am studying herbal medicine.  During the Christmas party at church, one of my friends approached me with a question about red raspberry leaf tea.  Apparently, her pregnant daughter was told by her physician that she should not be taking red raspberry leaf tea during her pregnancy.  Ridiculous!  Coffee and sun tea are more toxic to the developing infant, but no medical angst arises against them! To me, this is yet another example of the very faulty nutritional education received by today’s mainstream medical practitioners.

I am acquainted with this same myth about Red Raspberry Leaf (RRL) tea.  When I was pregnant with my first child, the midwife told me to take RRL tea, but all the information I was able to find online seemed to indicate that taking RRL tea would make me miscarry.  I wanted this baby so badly that I refused to take the tea. I wish I could go back and tell myself to listen to my midwife.  The best thing I could have done for my baby would have been to take RRL tea, in copious amounts, from pre-conception all the way through to the baby’s weaning at 3 years old!

Red raspberry leaf tea provides exceptional nutrition, especially to women.  When taken daily, over time, Red Raspberry Leaf tea

* provides the body with 20 vitamins and minerals in an easily assimilable form  that it can really utilize.  Red Raspberry leaf contains Alpha-Carotene, Alpha-Tocopherol, Ascorbic Acid, Boron, Calcium, Chromium, Manganese, Niacin, Pectin, Phosphorus, Potassium, Riboflavin, Fiber, Iron, Magnesium, Malic Acid, Selenium, Silica, Thiamin and Zinc.

* nutritionally assists the reproductive organs

* heals and tones the entire digestive tract; from sore mouths, gums, throats to ulcers, dyspepsia, and hemorrhoids

* addresses opthalmia, prolapses, colds, flus and fevers

* enriches the content of breastmilk

* RRL has long been known for it’s ability to prevent or quell nausea, including morning sickness.

Red Raspberry Tea is best made using distilled water, at a consistency of at least 1 tsp tea leaves to 1 cup of boiling water.  Pour water over leaves and steep for 5 to 20 minutes, sweetening with a little honey if desired.   It’s best consumed while still warm.  When I am pregnant or nursing, I try to drink at least 6 cups of RRL a day, and find it easiest just to make one big batch of it.

Our bodies have not changed so much that what worked for our mothers and grandmothers could suddenly become toxic or of little use to us.  If only Red Raspberry Leaf tea had the marketing power of the dairy industry…  RRL does everything dairy claims to do for women, without the negative side-effects most people incur from ingesting dairy (Here I am speaking of the mainstream homogenized, pasteurized cow product with toxic D3 added).  How much better it would be for our littlest ones and their pregnant and nursing mothers if they reached first for a glass of RRL!

UPDATE: Red Raspberry Tea Used Right Before Labor Helps Prevent Hemorrhage
I found this testimonial video from multipara mother Andrea Mills on YouTube.

If you would like more information on how to you can obtain the benefit of an herbal education for yourself and your family, please sign up under the ad banner below.

