Let me not to the marriage of true minds admit impediments
– from Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116

Thieves essential oil

My husband asked me to make a video about Young Living’s Thieves line of products over the weekend because of the contest we’re running at our essential oils website.  While re-watching it today… in my sudden self-consciousness… I experienced a moment of horrifying self-doubt. I jumped on the Internet and began to google around, double-checking myself to make sure I hadn’t been a total doofus.  What I hadn’t expected was to be stopped in my tracks by an amazing discovery:

Dr. John R. Christopher

My hero, Dr. John R. Christopher, also knew about Thieves. WHAT?!!!  Dr. Christopher, the founder of the School of Natural Healing that I am now attending as a student wrote about what he called Four Thieves. Notice that instead of focusing on the essential oils, Dr. Christopher focused on the vinegar and garlic with which they were used. Here it is, sourced directly from his website:

Garlic was the principal ingredient in the famous Four Thieves Vinegar which was adapted so successfully at Marseilles for protection against the plague when it prevailed there in 1772. This originated, it is said, with four thieves who confessed that, while protected by the liberal use of aromatic garlic vinegar during the plague, they plundered the dead bodies of the victims with complete safety. It is stated that during an outbreak of infectious fever in certain poor quarters of

London early in the last century, the French priests who constantly used garlic in all their dishes visited the very worst cases with impunity, while the English clergy caught the infection, and in many instances, fell victims to the disease. Another instance of the remarkable penetrating power of garlic is the fact that the expressed juice of fresh garlic mixed with olive oil and rubbed on the chest, throat, and between the shoulder blades gives great relief in whooping cough, asthma, bronchitis and dyspnea, according to an English physician who has used it with success for many years. It also has a reputation for safely reducing high blood pressure, and in this relation we have an exceedingly valuable formula.(red boldface font added by me)

What he calls, aromatic, perhaps even passed over as perfumery, was NOT just silly superstition revolving around pretty smells.  It was Four Thieves, the blend of essential oils re-introduced to the world today by the Young Living Company as Thieves essential oil blend.  When diffused, Thieves essential oil kills 99.99% of airborne germs.  So put that in your beak and sniff it!

Garlic & Vinegar MEET Thieves Essential Oil!

I love when this happens! I love it when truth cleaves unto truth and marries! In this case, I’m seeing my calling as the matchmaker. Thieves, meet garlic vinegar. Garlic vinegar, meet Thieves. Don’t you remember each other? It’s like the best episode of Wonder Twins, EVER!!!

Raw Apple Cider Vinegar

Which has got me thinking… what if I combined Dr. Christopher’s Anti-Plague Formula with raw apple cider vinegar and Thieves essential oil?!?!? I don’t know if I’d become a superhero or anything, but it sure sounds like one promising wintertime concoction to me! So, sorry folks, I’m heading to my kitchen to see what I can cook up and feed to my son, my daughter, my husband, my dog, my next-door neighbor, my friend, my clergyman, my mailman, my grocer, my beautician…  And let’s not admit an impediment because of the hardest ingredient to obtain, the apple cider vinegar.  Simply click on the the picture of the vinegar to the left.  It will send you to a very easy recipe for making your own apple cider vinegar (ACV) at home.   Though it may be tempting to use the popular Braggs ACV, remember that FDA law forces it to be pasteurized.   In a pinch, Braggs is far better than most white store vinegars (which are actually derived from petroleum) but we’ve found that home-made, locally made lacto-fermented foods are healthiest and tastiest.

So much for the self-doubt. 🙂  Come on kiddos!  Mama’s just mixed up the world’s-best batch of  kool-aid for you!

For intelligence cleaveth unto intelligence; wisdom receiveth wisdom; truth embraceth truth; virtue loveth virtue; light cleaveth unto light;... D&C 88:40

