Let it begin! Let it begin! Let it *begin*! – Rhino the Guinea Pig, from Disney’s Bolt

Background:

Since my last post 7 months ago, our family has been on a roller coaster ride through The Wringer.  My husband got a new job and we relocated… twice.  With our first rental, the realtor promised that though marijuana had previously been grown and smoked there, the house had been thoroughly cleaned, repainted, and carpets professionally steam-cleaned.  There is a severe housing shortage in our new area.  If our family was to stay together, then this particular rental house was our one and only option.  So we took it… and paid the price of trusting someone we didn’t know.  The reality was the antithesis of what had been promised, with the additional discovery of extensive mice droppings/damage behind the cupboards and drawers of the kitchen. I began to have respiratory problems so bad I was throwing up.  I went to see the only local health practitioner available – an allopath – in my desperation and fear that I might have the Hanta Virus.  A plethora of medical rituals were duly performed, including blood work. The doctor’s diagnosis was that I had developed an allergy to something in my environment.  Ya think?!

We are now in our second rental, in a new community, in a non-dopey-dope-house.  Though the change has been a 1000% improvement from the Dope House, I feel positively shell-shocked. Honestly speaking, The Wringer was just the finale to what has been 29 months of rough-riding for my health.  I haven’t had the money, time or energy to do everything that I want to do and believe to be true and right, especially with our diet.  It’s just impossible when you’re in survival mode.  There are noticeable signs that my family’s physical and emotional health has also suffered. Now that things appear to be looking up, how do I bring myself to a stand and march onward into the future when all my systems feel like they are running on low battery? I mean, come on, I’m the mom.  It’s my divinely appointed role to nurture the family and copilot the ship with my husband. And yet I felt like a pile of jello just sitting there like a blob on the ground.  It felt depressingly like I had reached an impasse.

Yet the dews of heaven came. Came so softly and subtly that I hardly noticed them.

1.) Joy, which seemed to have long since flown, came into my life when my oldest son successfully and honorably attained a major life milestone.  A period of reflection and self-assessment followed, as I pondered what was ahead for him, how others around him were acting and influencing him, and what I could do as his mother to help guide him successfully on to reach the next milestone. I realized there were some things I needed to change in myself.

2.) Last month, I had the opportunity to visit the actual offices of the School of Natural Healing in Springfield, Utah.  I met a woman there whose encouragement and kind words lifted my spirits.  My biggest struggle with Dr. Christopher’s Mucusless Diet has been time management in meal preparation, menu planning, and simply being able to afford quality groceries. She was willing to privately tutor me on Skype, and I’ll probably hire her within the next week or two.  She also encouraged me to continue on with my SNH training, which the hardship of the last year had forced me to abandon.

3.) I had noticed great results last year when I tried juicing, as outlined in the documentary Fat Sick And Nearly Dead.  I have a dental problem which makes it difficult for me to chew.  It just made sense that my weight gain could partially be attributed to poor mastication of my food.  I lasted for 17 days until taco salad night and the taco salad won.  But we’d gotten a Vitamix by then, which really helped to take the burden off my jaw… until the control switch broke.  There’s a 7 year-warranty on the Vitamix, so it can be repaired, but all of that was interrupted by the moves and here it still sits in a box waiting to be sent in to the manufacturer for repairs.  So I decided last month to get my Greenstar juicer back out.

4.) I unpacked the Cellerciser.  My little ones were excited, and have already flounced and bounced all over the place like a bunch of happy Tiggers released back into the wild.  But I have yet to find a moment of time where I can use it, uninterrupted by the children’s attempts to get on and join me.

5.) I watched the documentary, Fat Head, which is a rebuttal of the better-known documentary, Supersize Me. I began watching it as  skeptic and then, about 51 minutes in, had an AHA! moment.  Now, I already own the Nourishing Traditions cookbook and agree with many of the positions of the Weston Price Foundation.  But I’d never heard the diets of traditional societies described quite this way before: “[In the past] We ate no sugar, almost no starch, a little bit of vegetable fat and a whole lot of saturated animal fat.” I think it was the graphics that did it.  Sugar was represented by a bag of granulated, refined white sugar.  Starch was represented by a loaf of white bread. Vegetable fat was represented by a bottle of cooking oil.  I realized the truth that my diet wasn’t fruit-and-vegetable centered, as proscribed by a dietary standard of my faith called the Word of Wisdom. I realized that it had become, – or should I say reverted back to in the recent times of stress – a version of the SAD diet I grew up with.  Even if the starch was brown rice, organic potatoes, or healthy organic Dave’s Killer Bread… I was still eating more starches that fruits and vegetables.  My mind flashed next to the bottle of mayonnaise I always had to have in the house, even though I knew very well that it had canola oil in it.  So does the Ranch dressing, and all the other grocery-store convenience foods creeping back into my diet, complete with their refined SUGAR, refined STARCH and toxic forms of VEGETABLE FAT.  I realized I’d been living off of a chiefly carbohydrate-and-oil centered diet.

6.) Then there was my pesky friend, Debby, who kept facebooking me about some stuff called Asea.  Knowing my glowing success with Young Living, SNH and this blog, I just wasn’t in the mood to be sold to when I couldn’t seem to do it myself.  I knew what she was doing with all those posts.  I’d done the same thing.  So I had been ignoring her and the ignoring the product for quite a while.  But for some reason, when she mentioned it yet again and even went so far as to invite me to an Asea event, somehow my resistance and aversion just weren’t there anymore.  Instead there was a curiosity.  Maybe because I was longing for a kick-start to help me scrape my jello self back up off the floor again and give me my spine and energy back.  Maybe it was because I had started to try again to more regularly do the good things in my life: like prayer, scripture reading and fasting, and so God removed my prejudices.  I don’t know.  I decided to go to Debby’s Asea event when I found this blog post on Google by a woman with Hashimoto’s thyroid and a goiter, just like me. It’s the same battle I began to fight 7 years ago.  Her account gave me hope that maybe, in combination with everything else I already knew, Asea could help me be able to actually do it.  Asea might be the battery charger I’ve been looking for… the spatula to scrape my goofy jello self up off the ground.

Because of that blog post, I think I was already halfway sold before I even left home, but further events sealed the deal. For one thing, two of my kids and I were all struggling with some kind of respiratory goop again, which has become par for the course since Dope House.  Pertussis is also going around in our area. Great.  So when Debby offered me my first drink of Asea the evening before her presentation, I accepted. It was a sort of test for me.  What will this stuff do overnight, if anything? My throat had felt like a film of snot was trying to seal the breathing passage off entirely, but when I woke up, that sensation was gone.  My coughs were more productive, and the color and size of the mucus had changed to something more like the end of an illness than the beginning. I noticed that my nursing child seemed to have the same reaction.

I watched the film “Asea – The Genesis”  What struck me the most was the echo.  Let me explain what I mean.  I’ve read online and watched documentaries about what happens to many new technologies which challenge the powers-that-be.  It’s a pattern which has happened again and again.  Either the technology is purchased and then deep-sixed, or the inventor is found dead… or both.  That’s why Stanley Meyer and Tom Ogle are dead.  Who knows how many other suppressed products and inventions there are?  It really struck me that when the CEO and President of Asea were approached by a pharmaceutical power-that-is, the deal was 1.) We, BigPharma, will give you a mighty hefty check.  In exchange, you will surrender to us the product, the technology and all it’s patents.  2.) You must immediately cease providing the product to those people who already know about it and are using it in 20 countries around the world.  Hmmm.  I’ve heard this before.

I know this seems like a departure for me.  I mean, this stuff is made in a lab by a bunch of white-coats.  But something in me still wants to try it.

Maybe it was the change in Debby.  I hadn’t seen her for about 2 months, and she was different.  She wasn’t huffing and puffing when she walked across a room.  She seemed less high-strung, less in-your-face intense, calmer.  Her countenance was different, her energy was increased, and frankly, I trust her word.  It wasn’t just Asea I was buying into.  I was buying in to Debby, who I have always felt, since the moment I met her, is honest-at-heart.  Like my own mother, her method of delivery is sometimes unappreciated by others, but when I look into Debby’s eyes, there is pure intent without malice.  Quite simply said, I believe her.

The accounts I heard from other people at the meeting were the frosting on the cake.  Especially the old cowboy with Rheumatoid arthritis who could stand up and walk again and whose hands were uncurling.  He also told me he noticed he was more easy-going, that when things went wrong he was calmly able to handle whatever it was.  I watched my Grandma’s beautiful, loving hand, which had done so much for me, curl up and shrivel back on itself like a flower dying and withering away. I thought of my Dad, whose big strong hands might become the same as he continues to age, and then realized it could happen to me, too.  Someone also said they gave emergency doses of Asea to their dog who’d gotten into mouse poison, administering it to the animal every 20 minutes for – what was it? 24 hours? – Anyway, the dog recovered.  When I was a child, my dog was poisoned, so this account also affected me.

I had my second dose of Asea during the presentation.  My breathing was so much better I didn’t want the crud to come back, so I left with a case – which lasts one person a month – and the determination to experiment.  I will give Asea the summer, see how I feel and what it does, if anything, and then get blood labs done again. I may not be 100% sold on Asea, but I am 100% sold on the idea of giving it a try and seeing what happens.  My health issues at the start-up of this experiment are available here. My initial blood labs are available here.

RHINO: Bolt! I can be a valuable addition to your team…
BOLT: I’m listening…
RHINO: I’m lightning quick, I have razor-sharp reflexes. Wha! And I’m a master of stealth. [laughs]
RHINO: Plus, I’ll keep the cat in check.
BOLT: The road’ll be rough.
RHINO: I have a ball.
BOLT: There’s no turnin’ back.
RHINO: Guess I’ll have to “roll” with the punches!
BOLT: Easy won’t be part of the equation…
RHINO: Promise?
BOLT: I gotta warn ya, going into the belly of the beast – danger at every turn.
RHINO: I eat danger for breakfast!
BOLT:You hungry?
RHINO: [cracks neck] Starving!

Experiment Log:

Friday, June 1, 2012 – First dose, @ 8:00 pm. Suffering with some kind of thick-snot mess in my throat that felt like it wanted to seal off the passage.  Had been coughing and drinking water to try to keep it clear. I usually fall asleep easily, but laid awake for what seemed like hours. Wondered if the Asea caused that.

Saturday, June 2, 2012 – Woke up to find my snot condition somewhat improved. Coughs more productive, mucus color indicating progression. Dose taken @11:00 am at the Asea meeting.  Had a 4-hour drive, during which time one of my eyes just ran tears all by itself.  I remembered it was the eye that I would wake up and find myself sleeping on a lot.  Wondered if somehow it had been damaged and the body was using Asea to heal it? Or maybe it was just allergies?  Or clearing out the crud still in there from Dope House? The other weird thing I noticed: being thirsty. As a hypothyroid, I’m usually not thirsty and if I drink too much at one sitting, I just void it.  That didn’t happen, even though I went through over half a gallon of water. Second dose taken around 9:00 pm.  Again with the buzz of energy at bedtime. Stayed awake and energetic until wa-a-a-ay too late. Experimented with spraying Asea on my face. Gave my son a dose to see if it would help his snot/cough.

Sunday, June 3, 2012 – Normally, it’s hard for me to remember to take supplements.  Not with Asea. For some reason I’m craving it. Noticed the skin on my face felt tight. Weird.  Tried changing routine with a 6 AM dose and 4 PM dose, which worked much better. Fell asleep fine and slept well. In the PM, took 1 tsp of kelp powder in the hypothyroid hope to offset what they call the “natural chlorine” contained in Asea. Used Mullein & Garlic oil in my itchy ears. Had a good day at church, and enjoyed an all-day good mood until irritability returned @6:30 pm. Baby gave my husband a bad scratch right down his nose.  Persuaded my husband to let me spray Asea on it. Why I didn’t think of Lavender EO, I don’t know. Must be because I want to see how this new toy works. 🙂  Made the most yummy lunch: heated coconut oil & butter, then sautéed fresh sliced Vidalia onions. Added fresh sliced mushrooms, fresh minced garlic, italian seasoning and RealSalt. When they were done, added fresh spinach I’d cut up with kitchen shears. Cooked 1 min, then added shredded mozzarella cheese, and turned off the stove.  Returned to a cheesey mass. Put it on top of fresh Parmesan bagels from Costco. OH, Um-yom-yom-yom! Like my Dad, it takes me much longer than most people to hit that “I’m full” sensation. Sometimes I don’t feel it.  I was surprised after just one sandwich, to feel full and satisfied.  Was also thirsty again. Was this Asea, too?

Monday, June 4, 2012 – Woke up and took my dose.  Husband was about to leave for work. I noticed the scratch was markedly improved.  He didn’t know how, but he had what he thought were insect bites all over his neck and on one of his arms. So I sprayed him again with Asea, though why I didn’t think of Purification essential oil blend first, I don’t know.   I think my husband is curious about Asea. He kind of hinted at it yesterday, so when he hinted again after I’d sprayed him, I gave him a dose.  Nursing baby’s nose is finally running instead of being clogged; dark yellow in color, not coughing as much.  Carrot/apple juice for breakfast.  Fell asleep in front of a movie. Woke up @ midnight and took 2nd dose. Asea did not keep me awake this time. In fact I slept well.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012 – 1st dose in late afternoon, 2nd dose @ 1:30 am (technically on Wednesday). Crazy-busy day. Felt more tired than I have in the last few days and the joints in my hands ached most of the day.  Because of how much it costs, husband quit taking ASEA to leave what was left of it for just me. Weighed myself. Heavier than I’ve ever been in my life, even during pregnancy. Yay hypothyroidism + stress.   😦

Wednesday, June 6, 2012 – 1st dose mid-am. 2nd dose (technically on Thursday) very late,right before bed. Did some traveling today and got in some glorious napping in the sunshine while my husband drove. Found myself on a 2 mile + hike, part of the time carrying my clingy toddler. Dismayed at how quickly I became winded, and how difficult the hiked seemed for me compared to the others I was with.  But my energy held out, so that was a plus. Craved green foods. Drank a lot of water. Slept well.

Thursday, June 7, 2012 – 1st dose mid-am. 2nd dose (technically on Friday) very late, right before bed. More touring today, and more wonderful sunny car-naps. Craved green foods. Drank a lot of water.  Had a hearty appetite. Despite all the naps, still slept very well, and heavily at bedtime.  Felt like my body was catching up on rest it had sorely been lacking.

Friday, June 8, 2012 – 1st dose early afternoon. Home again and feeling tired but had the energy to Cellercise for @20 minutes. Still enjoying the sensation of wanting to drink water and then actually being able to drink a reasonable quantity. 2nd dose very late. Woke up with headache in the middle of the night.  Nursing baby seemed to be feeling the same headache, too, which was bad enough to lead to her waking up crying and holding her head.

Saturday, June 9, 2012 – 1st dose late am. Have had headaches, fatigue and body aches all day. Baby has been crabby, whiney and having more BM’s than usual. Took another 2 oz dose in early pm. Trying to keep up on water intake, since I suspect this is a  Herxheimers reaction.

Sunday, June 10, 2012 – Took two doses. Still don’t feel great, especially because I had horrible sleep-to-waking nightmares about tiny black biting spiders the entire night before (The type of nightmare where you think it’s all real until you realize you’re awake, but then you’re still not sure if you just dreamed it or not and so you go around hitting the bed in case there really are tiny venomous spiders crawling all over it) . Ravenously hungry/thirsty all day long.  Wasn’t helped by running across this article yesterday, and can’t help wondering if I’m self-poisoning.  After all, chlorine is a toxin, especially for a hypothyroid like me.

Monday, June 11, 2012 – Took the day off from ASEA.  Still don’t feel great.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012 – Took late morning 3 oz. dose, took late pm 3 oz dose. Have decided to up my doses for awhile and see what happens.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012. Took two 3 ounce doses.  Noticed the first results I can directly attribute to ASEA: I had something that looked like a white bone spike growing out of my gum where a tooth had been removed.  I noticed in the evening while brushing my teeth that the growth had receded. Yay! I attribute it to ASEA because I’ve been swishing it around in my mouth when I take it.

Thursday, June 13, 2012. Took two 3-ounce doses. I haven’t been drinking water like I should over the last few days, but for the past week, my diet has been much more fruit and vegetable based, with featured proteins being almonds, eggs and/or milk. (Yes, I know the last two are not recommended by the Mucusless Diet. )

Beyond June 13, 2012… Enter stressful events.  Started taking 3 ounces once a day to make the ASEA last longer.  As of July 16, the case I bought is almost gone.  Once the stressful events subside (which also happen to require money) in August, I will probably continue the guinea-pig experiment again. During this trial period with ASEA I have sometimes suspected that it has released negative emotions stored in my body (Feelings Buried Alive Never Die)… I couldn’t handle the wave of it all, which was another reason I cut back to 3 ounces a day.

July 23, 2012 – Life without ASEA is becoming noticeably harder… which is somewhat alarming to me.  A lot of my symptoms of hypothyroidism are back with a vengeance including intolerance of heat.  I’d been doing well all summer and now I’m back to wilting at even a couple of minutes of heat.  I’m feeling tired all the time again.  My energy levels are much lower again.  My inner ears are itching again.  The nagging stabs of pain are also back. Water is hard to drink in large amounts again and seems to be just going straight through me again.  I’ve started waking up in the middle of the night looking for it – wanting to take a dose – and then realizing I don’t have any in the house anymore.  I’ve asked a relative who has a background in chemistry to investigate ASEA for me.  I want to buy more but I don’t want to be forever addicted or dependent on the stuff… because the day might come when I can’t have access to it.  I don’t want it to be a budget-draining crutch.  I have already decided that if I ever take ASEA again, it will be because I am a distributor. What I can’t understand is why I want it.  Why I am thirsty for it.  What is in this stuff? I don’t trust this stuff…

2016 UPDATE:
There is no peer reviewed study of ASEA to date. Despite the anecdotal success stories I have heard from friends and online, it’s not for me. I don’t trust the MLM angle, and I don’t trust the company touting as scientific evidence what in actually are experiments that have very small populations and very short testing periods.

